Giving to Physics: Physics Chair's Challenge Begins Now! Make an impact on our students...

UC San Diego Physics Graduate Program

Learn More!

Department of Physics Faculty At A Glance

Dr. Henry Abarbanel

Dr. Michael Anderson

Dr. Daniel Arovas

Dr. Richard Averitt

Dr. Julio Barreiro

Dr. Dimitri Basov

Dr. James Branson

Dr. Adam Burgasser

Dr. Leonid Butov

Dr. Alison Coil

Dr. Eva-Maria S. Collins

Dr. Max (Massimiliano) Di Ventra

Dr. Patrick Diamond

Dr. Fred Driscoll

Dr. Daniel Dubin

Dr. Olga Dudko

Dr. Michael Fogler

Dr. George Fuller

Dr. Kim Griest

Dr. Benjamin Grinstein

Dr. Alexander Groisman

Dr. Jorge Hirsch

Dr. Michael Holst

Dr. Terence Hwa

Dr. Kenneth Intriligator

Dr. Elizabeth Jenkins

Dr. Suckjoon Jun

Dr. Brian Keating

Dr. Dusan Keres

Dr. David Kleinfeld

Dr. Quinn Konopacky

Dr. Julius Kuti

Dr. Aneesh Manohar

Dr. M. Maple

Dr. John McGreevy

Dr. Thomas Murphy

Dr. Kaixuan Ni

Dr. Michael Norman

Dr. Thomas O'Neil

Dr. Hans Paar

Dr. Jeremie Palacci

Dr. Karin Sandstrom

Dr. Ivan Schuller

Dr. Vivek Sharma

Dr. Oleg Shpyrko

Dr. Sunil Sinha

Dr. Douglas Smith

Dr. Clifford Surko

Dr. David Tytler

Dr. Massimo Vergassola

Dr. Shelley Wright

Dr. Congjun Wu

Dr. Frank Wuerthwein

Dr. Avi (Avraham) Yagil

Science in the News

UCSD Physics Awards

Professor Ivan Schuller selected to receive the Department of Defense "National Security Science and Engineering Fellows" (NSSEFF) award.

Professor Ivan Schuller is one of 7 researchers selected to receive the Department of Defense "National Security Science and Engineering Fellows" (NSSEFF) award. He is b... Read More

Two UCSD Physics students recognized by the Association for Women in Science, San Diego Chapter
Two UCSD Physics students were recognized by the Association for Women in Science San Diego Chapter with $1000 scholarship awards: undergraduate major Erika Johannessen a... Read More

Physics Professor David Kleinfeld has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS)
The fellows and members will be inducted at the academy's annual ceremony on October 10 in Cambridge, Mass. They were nominated and elected by current members through an... Read More

Physics Professor Ivan Schuller has been appointed as a recipient of the 2015 Lise Meitner Award
He is being recognized for his contributions to physics and in particular for "For creating the field of metallic superlattices and recognizing the impact of these materi... Read More

Previous Awards

UCSD Physics News

Click here to download the most recent Department of Physics' newsletter.

Andrew Ulvestad (Shpyrko group) discovers Molecular "Avalanches" in hydrogen storage materials

Imagine a sponge that could soak up a thousand times its own volume in water. Now imagine how effective that sponge would be if it could store hydrogen instead of water,...Read More

Star Role Models

As the number of women interested in majoring in physics increases, three new physics professors hope to open doors for those seeking to pursue research careers.

...Read More

Campus Conference Welcomes Undergraduate Women in Physics

At a time when women remain underrepresented in the sciences and a student can still complete a physics degree without taking a class in her major led by a female prof...Read More

Researchers Unravel Age-Old Mystery of Why Cells Use Fermentation
Wine, beer and yogurt are produced when microorganisms convert sugar into alcohol, gases or acids. But this process of fermentation-which is used by bacteria, fungi and o...Read More

Previous News

UCSD Physics Colloquium


    Title:  "The Future of Astronomy is Super(conducting): Microwave Kinetic Inductance Detectors for UVOIR Astronomy"
    Time:   4:00PM
    Speaker:  Ben Mazin
    Affiliation:  UC Santa Barbara
    Location:  Garren Auditorium (BSB)

UCSD Physics Seminars


    Title:  "Mid-IR to THz Polaritonics: Realizing Alternative IR Materials"
    Time:  12:00PM
    Research Group:  Special Condensed Matter Physics Seminar
    Speaker:  Joshua D. Caldwell
    Affiliation:  U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, 4555 Overlook Ave, S.W., Washington, D.C. USA
    Location:  Mayer Room


    Title:  Speaker: Brian O?Shea, Professor, Michigan State University
    Time:   4:00PM
    Research Group:  Astrophysics Seminar
    Speaker:  Brian O?Shea, Professor
    Affiliation:  Michigan State University
    Location:  SERF 383


    Title:  "Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics of Viral Evolution"
    Time:   4:00PM
    Research Group:  Condensed Matter Physics Seminar
    Speaker:  Barbara Jones
    Affiliation:  IBM
    Location:  Mayer Room

View all seminars